This forum uses cookies
This forum makes use of cookies to store your login information if you are registered, and your last visit if you are not. Cookies are small text documents stored on your computer; the cookies set by this forum can only be used on this website and pose no security risk. Cookies on this forum also track the specific topics you have read and when you last read them. Please confirm whether you accept or reject these cookies being set.

A cookie will be stored in your browser regardless of choice to prevent you being asked this question again. You will be able to change your cookie settings at any time using the link in the footer.

BIND not started...but somehow answering requests.
BIND not started...but somehow answering requests.
I just want to post this first, first time poster...new to Sentora, but longtime linux administrator... I'm not a newbie.

So I use Webmin on all of my servers in addition to having Sentora, CSF and a few other programs we use to manage the machines.

What I've noticed is that BIND (named) appears to not be running on my Sentora servers (according to Webmin), but is some how answering DNS requests for some domains. I'm not sure how that is happening. I know that Sentora has it's own included zone files in named.conf, but is it preventing BIND from starting or using it's own binary or is it using the binary installed on the system? And why would it be preventing Webmin from reporting BIND's status correctly?

Also continuously getting errors when attempting to setup new domains. Before I'm asked, yes...DNS zone is created in Sentora, BIND status shows it's running, and port is open allowing query requests.

But still getting this error.
https://intodns.com/ventracommunications.com

Any further recommendations would be appreciated. I would like to troubleshoot the issue, however I don't know how the CP is coded, so I'd rather not break it and have to flash the entire server if there is a more simple solution.

Cheers.